Mohammad Rizwan Appointed as Vice-Captain for Pakistan T20 Team

Photo of author

By Fayyaz Sidhu

Mohammad Rizwan Pakistan T20I Vice-Captain

Lahore, January 8, 2024: In a strategic move, the PCB has appointed Mohammad Rizwan as the vice-captain of the Pakistan Men’s T20I team. The 31-year-old wicket-keeper batsman, with an impressive T20 career featuring 85 matches and 2,797 runs, will be taking on the role of vice-captain in the Pakistan Cricket team with the main captain Shaheen Shah Afridi. Their first challenge together will be the upcoming five-match T20 series against New Zealand, scheduled to kick off on January 12, 2024, in New Zealand.

Muhammad Rizwan Vice Captain of Pakistan Cricket Team in T20 Format.

Table of contents:          

  • Mohammad Rizwan Pakistan T20I Vice-Captain
  • Pakistan Men’s T20 team
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi captaincy
  • Mohammad Rizwan cricket career
  • T20 series against New Zealand
  • PCB announcement January 2024
  • Full squad lineup Pakistan T20
  • Mohammad Rizwan wicket-keeping skills
  • New Zealand T20 series schedule
  • Eden Park, Auckland match details
  • Cricket action in 2024

Rizwan, known for his exceptional batting skills and proficiency behind the stumps, has notched up one century and 25 half-centuries in his T20 career. Additionally, his performance as a wicket-keeper includes 41 catches and 11 stumps, showcasing his all-around capabilities.

Expressing his gratitude, Mohammad Rizwan stated, “It is an honor to be named as the vice-captain of Pakistan Men’s T20 side. I am thankful to the PCB for entrusting me with this responsibility. I am looking forward to working closely with the captain Shaheen Afridi, the coaching staff, and my teammates to contribute to the team’s success.”

Pakistan Cricket Team squad against  New Zealand 

  • Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain)
  • Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain and wicket-keeper)
  • Aamir Jamal
  • Abbas Afridi
  • Azam Khan (wicket-keeper)
  • Babar Azam
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Haris Rauf
  • Haseebullah (wicket-keeper)
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  • Sahibzada Farhan
  • Saim Ayub
  • Usama Mir
  • Zaman Khan

Pakistan Vs New Zealand T20 Series Schedule

1st12th January 2024Eden Park, Auckland
2nd14th January 2024Seddon Park, Hamilton
3rd17th January 2024University Oval, Dunedin
4th19th January 2024Hagley Oval, Christchurch
5th21st January 2024Hagley Oval, Christchurch


This strategic announcement sets the stage for an exciting series, with cricket enthusiasts eagerly anticipating the performance of the newly appointed vice-captain and the entire T20 squad. Stay tuned for gripping cricket action in the upcoming matches.

Leave a Comment