Rashid Khan’s PSL 9 Participation in Doubt Due to Back Surgery: Lahore Qalandars Face Setback

Photo of author

By Fayyaz Sidhu

Lahore Qalandars Face Setback as Rashid Khan is not available for PSL9.

Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan is unlikely to play in the upcoming Pakistan Super League (PSL) season nine due to a recent lower-back surgery.

 Table of contents :

  • Rashid Khan‘s PSL 9 Participation Uncertain
  • Key Lahore Qalandars Player Undergoes Back Surgery
  • Afghanistan Coach Addresses Rashid’s Injury and Recovery
  • Lahore Qalandars Squad for PSL 9 Revealed
  • PSL 9 Set to Kick Off in Lahore: Lahore Qalandars vs. Islamabad United Opening Match
  • Tournament Overview: PSL 9 to Span Four Cities and 34 T20 Matches
  • Focus on Rashid Khan’s Rehabilitation: No Fixed Timeline for Return

Major Set Back for Lahore Qalandars: Rashid Khan’s PSL 9 Participation in Doubt Due to Back Surgery

Rashid, a key player for Lahore Qalandars, has informed the team management about his unavailability. Despite traveling with the team, he hasn’t fully recovered and missed other recent tournaments as well.

Afghanistan’s head coach, Jonathan Trott, emphasized the importance of handling Rashid’s injury cautiously, stating that they want to ensure he is fully ready before returning to the field. Rashid’s absence from the Big Bash League, SA20, and the T20 series against India has been due to his ongoing recovery. Trott mentioned that Rashid is dedicated to the Afghan national side and is working hard on his rehabilitation. There is no specific timeframe for his return, as he still has appointments and check-ups to ensure his complete recovery.

The Lahore Qalandars squad for PSL 9 includes players like Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, David Wiese, Sikandar Raza, Abdullah Shafique, Zaman Khan, Mirza Tahir Baig, and others. The tournament is set to begin at PCB’s headquarters in Lahore, with Lahore Qalandars facing Islamabad United in the opening match. PSL 9 will be held across four cities – Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi, concluding with the final at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi on March 18. The tournament comprises six teams and will feature a total of 34 T20 matches.

Leave a Comment