Pakistan Squad for the ICC World Cup 2023

Photo of author

By Fayyaz Sidhu

Pakistan Squad for the ICC World Cup 2023 finalized

Key Highlights

  • Pakistan Squad for ICC World Cup 2023 Finalized
  • Minimal Changes to Asia Cup Squad
  • Addition of Mystery Spinner Abrar Ahmed
  • Chief Selector to Meet PCB Chairman for Final Approval
  • Squad Announcement Date
  • Consideration of Injured Players for Squad Selection

The Pakistan Squad for the ICC World Cup 2023, scheduled to take place in India next month, has been finalized; a source reported. Pakistan team will come with Asia Cup Squad 2023 and will not make any major changes except to add one mysterious spinner, Ibrar Ahmad.

This squad has been finalized after consultation with the captain, head coach, and selection committee. The captain and selection committee have agreed to make minimal changes to the Asia Cup squad

.  Mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed is likely to be added to the 15-member squad due to the conditions in India.

Last Friday, Inzamam-ul-Haq, the head selector of the Pakistan Cricket Board, stepped up to announce the 15-player roster for Pakistan’s upcoming ODI World Cup campaign in India. This eagerly awaited revelation took place at a press conference at Lahore’s renowned Gaddafi Stadium.

Besides the main team, Inzamam-ul-Haq also announced three backup players. These reserves will accompany the team to India and stand ready to step in should any of the primary squad members suffer injuries during the tournament.

With Pakistan’s announcement, the list of teams ready for the ICC World Cup 2023 is nearing completion.


Pakistan Squad for ICC World Cup 2023 Date 

 Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq is set to meet with Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Zaka Ashraf to formalize the team. The ultimate decision regarding the Pakistan Squad for  ICC World Cup 2023 will depend upon Ashraf’s approval.

Cricket Fans are awaiting the squad announcement date which is most likely expected in coming Tuesday or Wednesday.  The selection committee has also taken into consideration the status of injured players while finalizing the Pakistan cricket team squad for ICC World Cup Squad 2023.

Availability of Injured Players in World Cup 2023

  • Naseem Shah: Suffering from a shoulder injury and likely to miss the entire World Cup.
  • Haris Rauf: Dealing with a side strain but expected to be fit in time for the tournament.
  • Agha Salman: Sustained bruising under the eye but will recover.
  • Imam ul Haq: Experiencing a back spasm but expected to be fit well before the World Cup.


Pakistan Squad for Word cup 2023

The Pakistan Cricket Team has made two key changes to its squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2023 in India. All-rounder Faheem Ashraf has been left out, and wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris has been moved to the reserves. The tournament, featuring 10 teams, will run from October 5 to November 19 across 10 Indian venues.

The opening and final matches will be hosted at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The tournament will use a round-robin structure, featuring 45 league games where all teams play against each other. The best four teams will move on to the semifinals, set for November 15 in Mumbai and November 16 in Kolkata, and backup days are planned.

With Babar Azam as the captain of the Pakistani Cricket team, Pakistan comes into the competition as the number #1 ODI team of the World. They have the highest win/loss ratio of 2.400 in this World Cup cycle among all teams that have participated in One-Day Internationals. Given their recent performance and top ranking, the team is expected to do well.

Pakistan’s Schedule for the ICC World Cup 2023

Match Date Opponent Location Match Type
October 6 Netherlands Hyderabad
October 10 Sri Lanka Hyderabad
October 14 India Ahmedabad
October 20 Australia Bengaluru
October 23 Afghanistan Chennai
October 27 South Africa Chennai
October 31 Bangladesh Kolkata
November 4 New Zealand Bengaluru Day Match
November 11 England Kolkata

Pakistan Cricket Team Squad list World Cup 2023 22nd September 2023

Player Number Player Name Role
1 Babar Azam Captain
2 Shadab Khan Vice-Captain
3 Abdullah Shafique Player
4 Fakhar Zaman Player
5 Haris Rauf Player
6 Hasan Ali Player
7 Iftikhar Ahmed Player
8 Imam-ul-Haq Player
9 Mohammad Nawaz Player
10 Mohammad Rizwan Wicketkeeper
11 Mohammad Wasim Jnr Player
12 Salman Ali Agha Player
13 Saud Shakeel Player
14 Shaheen Shah Afridi Player
15 Usama Mir Player

Leave a Comment