NA Speaker Ayaz Sadiq Rejected References against PM

Islamabad: Pakistan National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz  Sadiq today on Monday has rejected  all four references  seeking Prime Minister Nawaz sharif  disqualification from national assembly. These four references were made for violating articles 62 and 63 of Pakistan constitution in the Panama Papers.

In these articles, only a righteous and pious person can be a member of a legislative assembly.

NA Speaker Ayaz Sadiq received total eight references for disqualification of  PM Nawaz Sharif,  PTI Chairman Imran Khan, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) leader Mehmood Achakzai and PTI leader Jahangir Tareen. In total eight reference  four references were  made against PM Nawaz Sharif, two  for Imran Khan  and one for  Jahangir Tareen and Mehmood Achakzai respectively.

Ayaz Sadiq has given clean chit to PM nawaz sharif  and Mehmood Achakzai  and rejected  references filed against them by Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid Ahmed due to insufficient evidence while  he has forwarded  remaining references  to Election Commission that were filed by PML-N’s Daniyal Aziz, Talal Chaudhry and Maiza Hameed on August 5.

He also stated Imran Khan and Jahangir Tareen’s disqualification could be brought into consideration.

PTI Chairman Imran khan was accused of hiding details about offshore companies while Tareen was accused of concealing details of his assets in the time of  nomination papers for  by elections 2016.

Speaking to Media at his Bani Gala residence in Islamabad, Imran Khan criticised the NA Speaker for not ‘acting neutral’ on the matter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here